Conductive casters are generally reported at or below 1×10^6 Ω, while antistatic/dissipative casters sit between 1×10^6 and 1×10^9 Ω — bands two publishers align with ANSI/ESD S20.20. A quoted resistance class only helps if the caster sits in a complete grounded path and the quote declares its test method, electrode, voltage and conditioning.

No source in this set fixes one mandatory conductive-caster range, an insulating-caster figure, or resistance drift data.

Rule out any quote that treats the resistance class alone as ESD protection

A caster's resistance class describes one link in a chain, not the chain itself. ESD flooring systems work by giving charge a path to ground.

And the ESD Association notes that carts and trolleys moving across such a floor need dissipative or conductive casters to make electrical contact with it, with components electrically connected3. Break any link and the class on the datasheet stops mattering: a conductive caster on a plastic cart frame provides zero discharge capability.

And a cart with conductive frame and casters run on an insulating floor such as vinyl or ungrounded concrete will accumulate charge8. So before you compare ohms, ask what the caster is mounted to and what it rolls on.

If the frame is plastic or the floor is insulating, the resistance class cannot deliver discharge regardless of how low the number is8. The practical check is continuity from frame to each caster mounting point, which one source puts at under 1 ohm, plus a floor resistivity test8.

Treat a quote that presents the caster class as the whole ESD answer as incomplete until the frame, floor and ground connection are confirmed.

Place the quoted figure on the S20.20 scale

Two publishers describe the same classification scheme, which gives you a fixed line to test a quote against. ANSI/ESD S20.20-2021 defines conductive as ≤1×10^6 Ω and dissipative as >1×10^6 Ω to <1×10^9 Ω, measured per ANSI/ESD STM7.110.

A second publisher states conductive as under 1×10^6 Ω and antistatic as 1×10^6–1×10^9 Ω, with non-ESD product listed as not controlled15. The conductive/antistatic boundary at 1×10^6 Ω and the upper antistatic limit at 1×10^9 Ω therefore agree across both10,15.

When a quote arrives, read the stated band against those two lines. A figure at or below 1×10^6 Ω is being sold as conductive; a figure between 1×10^6 and 1×10^9 Ω is antistatic/dissipative.

If the quote gives a number with no band and no method, you cannot place it on this scale at all — the next section deals with that.

Compare conductive and antistatic casters on one scale

The two classes are adjacent bands, not interchangeable grades. One source reports conductive caster wheel and bearing materials at 10^3–10^5 Ω, and describes dissipative materials at 10^5–10^9 Ω8.

Another reports true conductive-rated wheels typically testing below 1×10^6 Ω, against an antistatic range of 1×10^6–1×10^9 Ω15. The bands meet around 1×10^6 Ω, which is why the S20.20 boundary is the line to check rather than a single target number.

What the application needs depends on which side of that line it requires. A conductive caster sits at or below the boundary; an antistatic caster sits above it and up to 1×10^9 Ω10,15.

Neither band is a quality ranking — they describe how fast charge moves. If your ESD coordinator's floor programme is written around the S20.20 bands, ask the supplier to state which band the quoted caster is claimed to meet, and hold the quote to that claim.

Reject or qualify a figure with no declared test method

A resistance number is only meaningful with its method attached, because electrode configuration, applied voltage and conditioning all change the reading17. The cited ESD standards are not written for casters: STM11.11 and STM11.12 cover planar materials, and STM7.1 is a floor method17.

EN 12527 is the only cited standard that addresses electrical resistance testing of wheels and casters, and it is the documentation European buyers tend to expect12. Put these checks to the supplier before you accept the number.

  • ✓Ask which test method the figure was measured to, and whether it is EN 12527 or an equivalent.
  • ✓Ask for the electrode configuration and contact area used on the sample.
  • ✓Ask for the applied voltage — methods specify levels such as 10 V, 100 V or 500 V.
  • ✓Ask for the conditioning before measurement, including humidity; low-humidity conditioning reads higher than humid conditioning.
  • ✓Ask whether the value was measured on the wheel alone or the assembled caster, since no cited method covers a complete assembly.
  • ✓Reject a figure that cannot be tied to a method, because it cannot be compared with your floor audit limit or a competing quote.

Decide whether the area wants the conductive or the dissipative band

The choice between the bands is about discharge speed versus discharge spike, not about which caster is better. One source reports that a conductive caster, with a proper grounding system, discharges a cart from 1,000 V to ground in under 1 second.

And notes the fast discharge can create transient currents that interfere with sensitive test equipment or low-current integrated circuits8. The same source describes dissipative casters discharging the same 1,000 V in 10–100 seconds, reducing peak current, and calls that the preferred design for semiconductor, advanced PCB and medical device work8.

A second source makes a narrower observation: most data halls specify dissipative-band wheels because they bleed static without the discharge spike of conductive material10. That is one publisher's account of data-hall practice, not a rule for your area.

Weigh your product's sensitivity against the discharge behaviour each band gives you, and let the ESD coordinator's area requirements decide which side of 1×10^6 Ω you specify.

Demand the test report, and plan for the property to change

A compliance statement is not a test report. Buyers are advised to request the actual report referencing standard clause numbers, and for ESD-sensitive applications to confirm electrical resistance testing was performed per EN 12527 or equivalent12.

That request is what turns a quoted band into something you can audit. Expect the conductive property to move over time.

Sources agree it can degrade with damage and environment and recommend inspection, but none quantifies resistance drift or tolerance over wear, cleaning or load cycles13,16,25. One supplier notes that damaged casters may lose their conductivity13.

Since no drift figure exists to specify, write periodic inspection of the full grounded path into your acceptance routine rather than a resistance-retention tolerance you cannot support.

Sanity-check price and lead time before accepting a premium

Conductive casters are reported at roughly $25–$100 per unit depending on material quality and manufacturing process13. That is a broad envelope from supplier-side sources, useful for spotting a quote that sits far outside it, not for benchmarking a specific specification.

Custom caster production is reported at several weeks to a few months depending on complexity31. Neither figure is caster-variant-specific, and no source in this set quantifies what a conductive caster costs relative to an antistatic or insulating one.

If a supplier prices a conductive variant at a premium, ask what drives it — material, testing or volume — and compare the quote against the reported envelope rather than against an assumed market differential.

Where the sources disagree on the conductive figure

The conductive-caster resistance figure is not stated identically across sources, and the spread reflects different reference bases rather than one agreed caster range. Read each position as what that publisher reports, and use the last column to decide what to verify.

Disputed item (with unit)One source reportsAnother reportsWhat the buyer should do
Conductive caster resistance (Ω)10^3–10^5 Ω for wheel and bearing materialsTypically below 1×10^6 Ω for conductive-rated wheelsAsk the supplier which band the quoted caster is tested to
Conductive threshold basis (Ω)≤1×10^6 Ω per S20.20, measured per STM7.1Under 250,000 Ω at 500 V per FF-C-77/FF-C-88Confirm which reference your ESD area's specification invokes
Test voltage behind the figure (V)Not stated with the 10^3–10^5 Ω band500 V for the federal-spec limitRequire the applied voltage in writing on the quote

Before you request a quote

  • Public sources do not settle this — put it to the supplier: no caster-specific ESD standard or test method with a defined electrode and contact area for a complete caster assembly.
  • Public sources do not settle this — put it to the supplier: no numeric insulating-caster resistance range on a test basis comparable to the conductive and antistatic bands.
  • Public sources do not settle this — put it to the supplier: no resistance drift or tolerance data after wear, cleaning or load cycles.
  • Request certificate numbers, issuing bodies, scope and validity for the exact model and destination market.
  • Request a written quote with price basis, MOQ, tooling, payment terms and production lead time.
  • Public sources do not settle this — put it to the supplier: no lead time or MOQ data specific to conductive caster variants.
Sources · 11
  • 3esda.orgPublished standard
  • 8casterresource.comIndustry publication2026-08
  • 10casterhq.comIndustry publication2026-05
  • 12infordcaster.comManufacturer technical documentation2026-07
  • 13carsuncastor.comManufacturer technical documentation2026-04
  • 15infordcaster.comManufacturer technical documentation2026-07
  • 16bullcaster.comManufacturer technical documentation2024-01
  • 17skt1m.comUnclassified source
  • 23guannming.comUnclassified source2026-06
  • 25humphriescasters.comManufacturer technical documentation
  • 31techincastor.comManufacturer technical documentation2024-11

Technical references cited for verifiability — not supplier recommendations.Browse the research library.